News Story

This Weekend UEFA Euro 2016 Cup Kicks Off!

Published: 6/06/2016 2:41:00 PM

UEFA Euro Cup 2016

We can now count down the sleeps till Euro 2016 begins!

The UEFA Euro Cup has been held every four years since 1960 (originally called the UEFA European Nations Cup, changing its name in 1968).

Since its inception, the Cup has been won by 9 different national teams with Germany and Spain having won 3 titles, France with 2 titles and Soviet Union, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Netherlands, Denmark and Greece have won 1 title each. To date Spain are the only side in history to have won two consecutive titles, doing so in 2008 and 2012.

With many of our players, coaches, managers and referees travelling to Europe over the next few weeks, our eyes become greener and probably blurred due to the time difference if we wish to watch live!

The office has run a sweep stake. Some staff are feeling confident and some staff are hoping that football is a strange game where anything can happen. Will Spain go down in history with a third consecutive win?

The following week 1 matches are to be played this weekend and the following week and the times we left in Sydney are able to watch! (all eastern standard Australian time)

Saturday 11th June


Romania 5:00am


Switzerland 11:00pm

Sunday 12th June


Slovakia 2:00am


Russia 5:00am


Croatia 11:00pm 

Monday 13th June


Northern Ireland 2:00am


Ukraine 5:00am 


Czech Republic 11:00pm

Tuesday 14th June


Sweden 2:00am 


Italy 5:00am

Wednesday 15th June


Hungary 2:00am


Iceland 5:00am

With the cultural diversity of the Eastern Suburbs Football Association competition, we trust that those travelling to support their country of origin, will have a safe football experience and for those watching at home in Sydney, enjoy the comfort of your lounge room.


    Follow ESFA on Facebook   

Email Newsletter

ESFA supports FFA FIFA Womens World Cup Bid 2023
Show your support and get onside.